South Carolina is a zero tolerance state for DUI charges and if you’ve ever gotten charged with one in the state you probably had your license suspended, had to pay a lot of fines, and might have an ignition indicator device installed in your vehicle now. However, after court, some clients never talk to their DUI lawyer in Charleston SC again, so they often have trouble navigating the process to get their license reinstated.
First time DUI offenders usually lose their license for six months. The second offense can nine months or longer, and the third offense 12 to 18 months or longer. If you’re one of the people ready to get your license back after a DUI, read on to find out what you’ll need to be prepared to do.
Steps for License Reinstatement
Our DUI lawyer in Charleston SC has helped numerous clients navigate the process of license reinstatement. The first step is to complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. This is a standard required program in South Carolina that everyone convicted of a DUI must complete.
After the program completion, you’ll need to apply for license reinstatement through the Department of Motor Vehicles. You’ll need to pay a license reinstatement fee of $100 (or more depending on your fines and fees) and provide proof of SR22 Insurnace. Any fines and court fees associated with your DUI will also need to be proven paid to get reinstatement. If the judge orders an ignition interlock device, you’ll have to show that completed also.
With the help of a DUI lawyer in Charleston SC, many offenders can appeal against license suspension or apply for a route-restricted license or a provisional license so that they can continue to drive back and forth to work or to transport their children to school if public transportation is not an option.
If you want to find out how a DUI lawyer in Charleston SC can help you with your license suspension, all the Law Office of Peter David Brown P.A. at 843-202-4548.